Why Early Childhood Education?

The journey began when I realised my little boy was going to be totally cared for by women. No offence, I love my Mum, wife, daughters and Grandma, but it just seemed wrong that my shift work would mean he would rarely get good quality man time. I have learnt so much over the past five years and understand the needs of active boys and the benefits of providing a positive male influence in preschoolers lives.

Only two percent of New Zealand ECE workers are male, I believe there needs to be more to provide a balance of views, perspectives and influences on how children learn. The rough and tumble play along with understanding that boys need a good mix of freedom and structure to be guided in their imagination and play are all reasons why Early childhood education chose me.

The joy of being there when small children explore, discover and marvel at what they can achieve is why I teach preschool and want to learn more and share ideas on child development and learning through active play.

Leave a Reply

